Showing posts with label weekend wrap-up. Show all posts
Showing posts with label weekend wrap-up. Show all posts

5.14.2013

Insta-weekend

Me and my super cute grandma who was telling me all about her favorite Japanese boy band. 

My dad and Goose. She lovingly calls him "Goo-Goo."

My new coffee maker. The mug I got on our recent trip to Disneyland! 

We went to a wedding out of town this weekend and had to take my sisters along for the ride. Despite being cramped in my tiny car, there was only minimal bickering!

Goose and Emmy at the top of the pass. Look! Snow!

My three little ladies on the farm.


My brother-in-law, mother-in-law and Hubs.

My husband makes me laugh. And make weird faces.  See my necklace? Check out Loose Ends to find out how to make it!


Me, at the wedding, with the light just right.

And that about sums up my weekend!


9.20.2010

Things That People Without Kids Get To Do


This weekend we found ourselves suddenly and unexpectedly without child.
My mother in law was going to visit family and she wanted a traveling companion.
"SHE'S ALL YOURS!" We both said gladly.
Goose loves her cousin on the "other side of the mountains."
Her and Aubrey are "BEST FRIENDS."

And Friday afternoon, off they went to Kennewick.
We got off work at 5, got home at 5:15 and sat.
We stared at each other.
We walked in circles.
We watched a TV show that we can't watch when Goose is home.
South Park, if you were wondering.

Then we cleaned the kitchen. Together.
And made dinner.
Together.
Hawaiian meatball subs. From scratch. Yumm!
And we didn't eat 'till after 8!

meatballs, teriyaki BBQ sauce, pineapple, grilled onions and Swiss cheese.

We called some friends over and then walked to the bar and played some pool.
It was pretty cool.
Hubs plays pool every week or so at this tavern that's a block away from our house.


Normally, I stay home, because, ya know, someone has to stay with the kid.
But this time I GOT TO GO!
I'm not any good at pool, but its fun to play.

We went to bed at 3 am and didn't get up 'till 10.
When we got up I asked Hubs, "What do people without kids watch on the weekends?"
I flipped through the channels and almost wished Goose was home so I could have an excuse to watch cartoons.  Don't judge me.

And then I cleaned. We cleaned.
Scrubbed the kitchen.
Scrubbed the toilet.
Swept. Mopped. Vacuumed.

And it actually stayed that way!

I even cleaned Goose's room! I was mighty proud of myself.
I love a clean house. I would just love for someone else to clean it.
But I was in a mood and wasn't about to quit.
Still didn't have the will to fight the laundry monster though.
I washed it all... its just on the couch, waiting to be folded.

We didn't make breakfast and had an early lunch so around 4 pm we decided to go get food.
Greasy burgers from the best place in town.
With extra goop!


We took our dinner back home and finished eating and it was only 5 pm.  We had a whole night ahead of us and no plans what-so-ever.
A movie?
Why not?
I searched movie times on my phone (and the Flixster app for Blackberry is AWESOME, btw!)
and we decided to go see The Town directed by Ben Affleck.]

We decided we were bored at 5 pm.
By 6, we had decided on a movie.
And we were in our seats at 7:05 pm.
Just like that. No babysitter. No messing around.

I've never been Ben Affleck's biggest fan.
I love Mallrats and Dogma, but he always played a douche and that's kinda how I saw him.
But ladies, let me tell you, that man has gotten hotter with age.
And the whole "devoted dad, husband, family man" image doesn't hurt.
It reminded me alot like "Departed" with a similar style to "The Shawshank Redemption."
We were both pleased with our choice.

We came home and I made (and destroyed a cake.)
It's a good thing taste buds don't have eyes, cuz it tastes GREAT!


It was 10:30 pm or so, and we were bored.
And wired from cake.
And tipsy from wine.
So, hubs decided we should get some beer.
We collected all the change in the house (cuz we are cool like that) and decided to walk to the gas station down the road.

It was POURING, I mean, just DUMPING rain.
My feet were soaked before we left the driveway.
My coat, completely soaked after a block.
On the way home I ditched my coat and walked in the rain.
It wasn't even that cold.

It's the Water

Then we got home. Drank some beer. Watched TV.
We did "those things" that people do when they love each other, very much.

Then we slept in.
Late.

Hubs made me breakfast in bed but I was hungover.
I don't normally drink enough to be hungover.
I was so glad that my singing Goose wasn't home.
She is constantly singing and talking and chirping and squeaking.
Moving, dancing, running.
She is exhausting. And headache inducing, without the help of a hangover.

Then we laid on the couch and watched football.
All day.

Then we made dinner, Goose came home, and we all went to bed early.

I sure did miss that girl but I have to say...
It was awesome to act like ADULTS instead of PARENTS!


8.02.2010

Race Day!

11th Annual Shipwreck Beads Modified Nationals
Elma, Washington

My father-in-law used to race modifieds out on the dirt track for years up until he hurt himself a few years ago.  His business, Shipwreck Beads, is a huge sponsor of the race and we got to enjoy booth seats for the race this weekend. Steve and I have been going to the races for years, since we first started dating. Goose has gone a couple times this year and she loves it! We got to throw beads over the balcony to fans, sort of a promotional thing. Goose had a blast tossing them over the edge to the eager hands of the greedy kids below (who went so far as to hide their many strands of beads, and would then plead with you to throw them one because they didnt have any *greedy little bastards*)!



7.12.2010

Monday... Among Other Things

This weekend was good.
We didn't do anything exceptional,
but it was good. 

Friday night Hubs and I decided it was too hot to cook.  Good thing it was pay day so we walked to Vic's.  They aren't far from the house and their food is delicious.  My favorite pizza is the Rolle.  It has spinach, feta, peppers, and potatoes. Yes, potatoes! I know it sounds weird but it is the best, the absolute best.  It's the perfect place to get 'za by the slice.  And right in the midddle of Oly's self-proclaimed "green district" (we are very granola here, in fact, we invented it.)
 
Goose and I went to Farmer's Market and met some friends at the park.  Then we took the bus back to the house.  Saturday was beautiful and perfect for venturing out on our own.  Okay, I've lived in this town my whole life, but not it hasnt been nice yet this year and there are so many things to do in Oly.  From the Market to the Fountain, there is plenty to keep you busy. Taking the bus was neither as scary or stressful as I had expected.  It was so nice.  Espcially since we only have one car and it make it hard for Goose and I to do something if Hubs needs to go work out at the garage or something.  The bus picks up and drops off just a couple blocks from our house!  Plus it just feels good to leave the car at home and hoof it. 

Later, in the heat of the afternoon, we went to see "Despicable Me."  We all loved it and Goose actually sat still the whole time.  Okay, not the whole time, but she's 4... she did great!  It was funny and heart-warming.  The characters are creative and inventive.  The jokes weren't distasteful.  And now, I have a sudden urge to have my own minions.  And a jumbo-tron. 

Sunday we just lounged around the house.  I laid on the couch all morning and Goose and I watched movies while Hubs went with his friends to watch the World Cup finals.  Then, as it got nicer in the day, us girls pulled weeds and watered the lawn.  Then, last night, I made a meatloaf and some corn-on-the-cob. Yumm.  Goose ate it all and praised my cooking skills.

See, nothing exceptional, except for the weather.  It was just a nice, quiet weekend at home.  No big fights, Goose was very good all weekend.  She even slept past sunrise, so that's always a win. Just wanted to pop in and say HI on this lovely Monday.  I plan on a craft post tomorrow, so keep an eye out!

6.14.2010

Bullet Points

Friday
  • Worked in the AM.
  • Goose hurt her knee at Grandma's and I had to take her in for x-rays, it was just a sprang.  She still has a bit of a limp. It's really sad.
  • Rushed home, ate lunch, packed.
  • Drove with my Mother in Law and Goose to Kennewick for Goose's "bestfriend" slash cousin's birthday.
  • Chit-chat. Goose watched a movie.
  • Got into town late, 8-ish. Hung out with family for a bit. Got to bed late.
  • Crappy hotel room next to the highway. No sleep for anyone but Goose.
  • Somehow, she ended up on the floor in the middle of the night. Musta fallen out of bed. She didn't wake up though.
Saturday
  • Up way too early. Trucks making noise. All. Night. Long.
  • MIL requests demands a new room. Away from the highway.
  • Continental breakfast. The best bacon I ever had. Lost my phone.
  • Went to Auntie Jan's, where the party was, and hung out.
  • Goose and Aubrey couldn't wait to get into the pool.  Party started at 3 but they were swimming by 1!!
  • Tara (Aubrey's mom/awesome photog!!) and I set up the party in the yard.  Yup... two small girls (I guess, I should really say "women" ack! Old!)
  • It was tropical beach theme. Complete with grass skirts, leis, a swimming pool and a 12ft inflatable water slide!
  • Goose loved the slide. She way over-did herself.
  • Sunburn! For me, not for Goose.
  • Went back to the hotel to pack Goose overnight stuff for the sleep over.
  • Asked the front desk if, by chance, they had my phone. Pink, with a sticker that says "hey." They did!!!
  • After the party, Goose had a sleep over at Aubrey's. Tara is a brave lady. But the kids were pretty good cuz they were so tired!
  • Went to Aunt Donna's.  She just had a garage sale and wanted me to see if there was anything I needed before they took the stuff to Goodwill. 
  • Got kitchen stuff, some vintage linens and the raddest red chair ever.
  • The chair needs love, but I have a plan. I have a vision for Goose's room. Inspired, all because of a chair.
  • Dinner at Denny's. Cuz it was 11pm before we actually ate dinner and it was the only place open.
  • Back to the hotel.
  • Crash.
Sunday
  • Couldn't sleep. Up at 5.  Tried not to wake up MIL so I went to the pool, did some laps and soaked in the hot tub.
  • The sun was already shining and I was in the pool all alone. It was so early. But so relaxing.
  • Went back to the room. Actually fell back to sleep for a few hours.
  • Picked up Goose. She was stiff and sore. Too many runs down the slide. ;-P
  • Ate at Sterling's.
  • Hit the road.
  • Stopped in Thorpe at the (most amazing EVR) antique mall. 
  • Cried cuz I was so broke.  I could have easily spent hundreds of dollars in that place.
  • MIL and I planned a "thrifting" trip for later in the summer. To E. WA and back, hitting every thrift and antique store in between.  I need to start saving!
  • Gossiped, a lot. Learned some family "secrets." Tee-hee!
  • Home. Sweet (Messy), Home.
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

So that was my weekend.  It was actually a lot more busy/stressful/fun than my bullet points make them seem.  I'll write a better post once I get pictures off my camera.  (MIL also has a Nikon. Nikon uses one generic battery for their camers. Thus, I could charge my camera w/ her charger! Joy!!)
I think I'll have to make another trip to Target to get a picture CD made. 

Well, probably more like 3... I took over 350 picures this weekend. 

5.02.2010

Sorbet Sunday

I had a full weekend of packing. And cleaning. And moving. 
It was... less than fun.

So I had to take many breaks. 



And Goose kept lamenting that "cleaning is BOR-ring!"
So, I can make excuses and blame the breaks on her.

She played dress up.
She also unpacked toys faster than we could pack them.

So, I decided to stop at Lowes today and I picked up some seeds.
I had planned on doing this project, but it was more mess than I could handle today.
We planted some seeds instead.
I got basil, tomatoes, peas, watermelon and pumpkin.


I also potted some lemon mint from the yard to take with us. 
The gnomes are hanging out in the pot.
My hope is that they will be ready to plant outside by the time we move in a couple weeks.

I also redid my manicure. 
I am totally loving the multi-colored nails at the moment.
Even though the weather was crap, I was totally in a springy mood today.


And now, Hubs is in reading Goose a story, I'm up next.
And then, I fully intend to melt into the couch and not move for the rest of the night.

Hope you all had a productive weekend too!


9.14.2009

Weekend Wardrobe Watch!

Boring weekend at the homestead. Lots of laundry and getting ready for our trip to the Oregon sand dunes next weekend. It'll be the first time Goose and I are going, so I am pretty excited. K, Goose and I are gonna carpool down there. Yay! I see outlet shopping in our future!

Saturday
Photobucket
Photobucket


Dress: Walmart $14
Shoes: Target, sale $7
Handmade Accessories
Headband: Dollar Tree

Sunday - Game Day!! Go Seahawks!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Tops: Old Navy, $5 ea
Skirt Fun Junk $4 - reconstructed


I had to completely redo the skirt. When I bought it, it was looking worse for wear. Seams were ripping and the zipper was destroyed. So, I sewing binding tape around the top/bottom and replaced the sipper (all by hand) I love how it turned out. It's my official "Seahawks" skirt. I have a 'Hawks patch somewhere that I plan on adding to it.


Monday
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Faux wrap-dress: from Bumbershoot, $28
Patterned tights: Target, $8
Shoes: WM $20
Cami: WM $6
Handmade Accessories


Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!
LUVS!

Photobucket

9.08.2009

Bumbershoot - Day 2

Photobucket

I guess I didn't take many pics on Sunday. We saw a comedy show (no cameras allowed) and some shows at night. And without a flash on my camera right now - its pretty much useless at night.

We saw Aziz Ansari (the Indian guy from Parks and Recreation.) We were trying to see Nick Swardson (Terry, Reno 911-RIP), our favorite comic, but he was a last minute cancellation and Ansari filled in. He was surprisingly SUPER funny dude and a great surprise to see!

AND Doug Benson and Sarah Silverman opened for him, and they weren't even billed! That was an awesome surprise!

And here we are...
back at the motel getting cozy. We spent quite a bit of time in the room... enjoying each other... wonderful!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Bumbershoot - Day 1

Pictures from Bumbershoot - Day 1
"Emo" re-entry stamps for Day 1 - Hubs was thrilled.
Photobucket

Our sleezy, cheap, shoebox size motel... that just happened to be a 10-ish minute walk from Bumbershoot and had free covered parking.
Photobucket


Got coffee here every morning. Despite being a NW native I am VERY anti-Starbucks. I prefer coffee from ANYWHERE else!
Photobucket

Not sure what kind of shop this is... but it was right by our hotel and I thought it was kinda funny. Rubber chickens, WTF?!?! I think it may have been some sort of Asian resturaunt?
Photobucket

KATY PERRY!! LUVS!!
Photobucket

Hubs enjoyed Katy Perry... very much. LMAO!
Photobucket

Hoofing it back and forth to the motel between shows to relax... and get drinks...
Photobucket

This is how we roll when we dont have Goose for the WHOLE WEEKEND!
Photobucket

Changing up the outfit a bit for the afternoon...
Photobucket

The Space Needle, after dark. Beautiful!
Photobucket

Saying goodnight for Day 1!
Photobucket

Photobucket
Related Posts with Thumbnails